The Arctic Star is awarded to those who served in areas above the Arctic Circle during World War II. The Arctic Star is intended to commemorate service in the Arctic Convoys and is designed primarily for the ships of the convoys to North Russia and their escorts.

The Arctic Star is granted for operational service of any length north of the Arctic Circle from 3 September 1939 to the 8 May 1945 inclusive.

The six–pointed star is yellow copper zinc alloy. The obverse has a central design of the Royal and Imperial cypher, surmounted by a crown. The cypher is surrounded by a circlet containing the words ‘THE ARCTIC STAR’.

The ribbon has stripes of light blue, dark blue, red and white.