Woomera Prohibited Area Advisory Board

The Woomera Prohibited Area (WPA) Advisory Board monitors and reports on the balance of national security and economic interests in the WPA; oversees the implementation of the co-existence policy arrangements; and fosters strategic relationships between Defence and non-Defence users of the WPA.

Specifically, the Board monitors and recommends amendments to co-existence policies and procedures; develops high-level relationships between Defence and the resources sector and other non-Defence users; resolves disputes between Defence and non-Defence users; and reports annually on the balance of interests in the WPA.

The Board is supported by membership from relevant Commonwealth and South Australian Government agencies and secretariat support from the Woomera Prohibited Area Coordination Office. The Board currently meets twice a year.

Terms of reference

Annual reports

Board members

  • Appointed members
    • The Hon Amanda Vanstone, Chair
    • The Hon Paul Holloway, Deputy Chair
  • Ex officio members
    • Marc Ablong, Deputy Secretary, Australian Government Department of Defence
    • Air Marshal Leo Davies AO CSC, Chief of Air Force
    • Dr Paul Heithersay PSM, Deputy Chief Executive, South Australian Government Department of the Premier and Cabinet
    • Mike Lawson, Acting Deputy Secretary, Australian Government Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
    • Richard Price, Chief Executive, Defence SA, South Australian Government