Korea Medal

Korea Medal (obverse) Korea Medal (reverse)

Personnel who served in Korea during the time of the Korean War are eligible to receive up to three medals; the Korea Medal, the UN Medal for Korea and the Australian Active Service Medal 1945-75 (AASM 45-75). The Korea Medal was instituted in July 1951 and awarded for service in Korea between 1 July 1950 and 27 July 1953.


The Korea Medal is cupro-nickel with the obverse having the classical effigy of the Queen. The reverse shows an image of Hercules fighting the Hydra, which was a symbolic representation of communism.

Members mentioned in despatches for operations recognised by the Korea Medal were approved to wear a bronze oak leaf on the medal ribbon.


The Korea Medal ribbon has a central stripe of yellow, flanked by stripes of blue and yellow. The blue represents the United Nations.

Honours and Awards Manual

Chapter 24 Campaign Awards 1945-75

Web page last updated 29 August, 2013