Appendix Two
Corporate governance

Senior Committee Attendance

This section contains additional detailed information on Defence's senior committees, further to that contained in the print version of the Defence Annual Report 2007-08.

Table WA2.4 Defence Capability and Investment Committee membership and attendance, 2007-08
Position and name
Secretary (Mr Nick Warner)
Chief of the Defence Force (Air Chief Marshal Angus Houston)
Chief Executive Officer of the Defence Materiel Organisation[1] (Dr Stephen Gumley)
Chief of Navy (Vice Admiral Russ Shalders)
Chief of Army[1] (Lieutenant General Peter Leahy)
Chief of Air Force[1] (Air Marshal Geoffrey Shepherd)
Chief Capability Development Group
(Lieutenant General David Hurley until November 2007) [1]
(Vice Admiral Matt Tripovich from 26 November 2007)
Vice Chief of the Defence Force (Lieutenant General Ken Gillespie)
Chief Defence Scientist[1] (Dr Roger Lough)
Chief Finance Officer (Mr Phillip Prior)
Deputy Secretary Strategy, Coordination and Governance
(Mr Michael Pezzullo until February 2008)
(Mr Frank Lewincamp acting from February to June 2008)
Chief Information Officer
(Mr Peter Lambert acting until November 2008)
(Mr Greg Farr from 26 November 2007)
First Assistant Secretary Capability Investment and Resources
(Dr Ralph Neumann until March 2008)
(Dr Paul Taloni from April 2008)


  1. Representative attended.

During 2007-08, the Defence Capability and Investment Committee met five times. It considered the most important Defence Capability Plan projects, including the Wideband Global Satellite System, Seahawk Helicopter Capability, Joint Strike Fighter and the New Air Combat Capability and the Future Airlift Capability, in order to formulate Defence's advice to the Minister.

The Committee also provided guidance on the Defence Science and Technology Organisation's Capability Investment Strategy, the Defence Capability Strategy, and ongoing reviews of the short, medium and long term Defence Capability Plans and their associated net personnel operating costs.