skip banner The Australian Government Department of Defence

Minister | Navy | Army | Air Force | Department

Organisational Chart

See below for text description of chart.

The flow chart above depicts the structure of the organisation as at 30 June 2003.

The Minister for Defence is Senator the Honourable Robert Hill. Assisting Senator Hill fulfil his portfolio responsibilities are the Minister Assisting the Minister for Defence, the Honourable Dana Vale, MP and the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Defence, the Honourable Fran Bailey, MP.

The Chief of the Defence Force (CDF) and the Secretary of the Department of Defence jointly manage the Defence organisation under a 'diarchy' arrangement. The diarchy is the mechanism through which the Defence organisation delivers results to Government. Within this diarchy, Mr Ric Smith, the Secretary, is the principal civilian adviser to the Minister and General Peter Cosgrove, the CDF, commands the Australian Defence Force (ADF) and is the principal military adviser to the Minister.

Reporting to the Secretary and CDF, there are 17 key defence leaders. The list below provides the reporting structure. The number of stars indicates the level of seniority, with more stars showing greater seniority members of the Defence Committee are annotated with a (c). As part of this accountability structure, Defence Groups and Services have been classified as either output, owner support or enabling executives.

Output Executives

Owner Support Executives

Enabling Executives

Note: Deputy Secretary Corporate Services oversees the administration of the Inspector General, and Public Affairs and Corporate Communication Groups.