skip banner The Australian Government Department of Defence

Minister | Navy | Army | Air Force | Department

Senior Committees Chart

See below for text description of chart.

The flow chart above depicts the structure of the senior Defence committees in 2002-03.

There are eight senior Defence committees. The pre-eminent committee is the Defence Committee, chaired by the Secretary. The Defence Committee's role is to make the decisions that assist in achieving the results specified in the Ministerial Directive to the Secretary and CDF.

The Defence Committee has a number of subcommittees to consider specific issues in more detail. Those committees are:

The Chiefs of Service Committee is chaired by CDF. Its principal functions are to provide military advice to CDF to assist him in discharging his responsibilities for the command of the Defence force and providing military advice to government. The Chiefs of Service Committee has no subcommittees.