Woomera Prohibited Area (WPA) Advisory Board

Responsibilities

Established in October 2012, the WPA Advisory Board ('Board') is responsible for governance of the WPA coexistence framework.

The Board provides the mechanism for government-to-government consultation on the balance of national interests in the WPA.

The Board meets twice a year to receive updates from the Commonwealth and South Australian (SA) government agencies, as well as to endorse proposed amendments to policies and processes agreed to by both governments.

The Board publishes meeting minutes, annual reports and dashboard reports on the WPA website. These provide a statistical overview and commentary about the activities in the WPA for the benefit of all WPA users.

Membership

The Board is led by an independent Chair, the Hon Amanda Vanstone AO, and Deputy Chair, Ms Andrea Slattery, appointed by Government.

Chief of Air Force Air Marshal Stephen
Chappell, and Deputy Secretary Strategy,
Policy and Industry Mr Hugh Jeffrey, are the
Department of Defence Board members.

Mr Robert Jeremenko, Deputy Secretary, Resources and Strategy Group, is the Board member for the <u>Department of Industry</u>, Science and Resources (DISR).

Mr Paul Martyn, Chief Executive, is the Board member for the SA Government <u>Department</u> for Energy and Mining (DEM).

Mr Matt Opie, Chief Executive, is the Board member for Defence SA.

How best to engage with the Board?

We recommend contacting the Board agency responsible for your specific enquiries.

WPA Coordination Office	wpaco@defence.gov.au	1300 727 420
Woomera Test Range	woomera.enquiries@defence.gov.au	1300 972 335
DEM	DEM.Exploration@sa.gov.au	+61 8 8463 3000
	DEM.Tenements@sa.gov.au	
Defence South Australia	enquiries@defencesa.com	+61 8 8463 7140
DISR		+61 2 6213 6000

