skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer

Defence Infrastructure Division

HMAS Watson Redevelopment Project

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works

PWC Process Stages

The PWC’s Manual of Procedures for Departments and Agencies identifies eight steps in the PWC process:

  1. Identification of the need to refer a proposed public work to the PWC;
  2. the preparation of a submission to the PWC (the Statement of Evidence);
  3. the referral of a proposed project to the PWC;
  4. pre-public hearing activities;
  5. site inspection;
  6. public hearing and follow-up; and
  7. the tabling of the PWC’s report in the House of Representatives and the Senate;
  8. Parliamentary approval by the House of Representatives for work to commence.

In practice, the Department of Defence groups these steps into four distinct phases: referral, hearing, expediency and reporting.

The key steps in PWC process for HMAS Watson Redevelopment included:

  1. Referral: HMAS Watson Redevelopment was referred to the PWC on 10 September 2019.
  2. Hearing: The Hearing for HMAS Watson Redevelopment was held on 31 October 2019 at Sherbrooke Hall.
  3. Expediency: HMAS Watson Redevelopment achieved Parliamentary expediency on 05 December 2019.
  4. Reporting: The PWC Outcomes Report is available on the APH website.

The Department of Defence consulted with local residents, statutory authorities and other interested stakeholders as part of obtaining Parliamentary Expediency for the works to proceed under the provisions of the Public Works Act 1969 by the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works (PWC).

View the Statement of Evidence for HMAS Watson Redevelopment.