Lead-In Fighter Hawk 127 Weapon System

The Lead-in Fighter fleet consists of 33 Hawk 127 aircraft and associated ground and support systems.

The Hawk 127 fleet and associated training systems is supported by the Tactical Fighter Systems Program Office (TFSPO) at RAAF Base Williamtown. BAE Systems Australia provides sustainment support for the Hawk 127 fleet and CAE provides sustainment support for three Hawk 127 full mission simulators under In-Service Support contracts managed by TFSPO. The Hawk fleet is operated by Number 76 Squadron (RAAF Base Williamtown, New South Wales) and Number 79 Squadron (RAAF Base Pearce, Western Australia).

During 2021, there will be a focus on reviewing the Hawk 127 Planned Withdrawal Date (currently 2026) to align with the introduction of project AIR6002 Phase 1A – Future Lead-In Fighter Training System.

Content is current as at December 2020.