Woomera Prohibited Area Advisory Board

Advisory Board

The Board meets twice a year, and holds intersessional meetings when required.

Terms of Reference

The Advisory Board is guided by a terms of reference to support its objectives to:

  • monitor and report on the balance of national security and economic interests in the WPA
  • oversee the implementation of the coexistence policy arrangements
  • foster strategic relationships between Defence and non-defence users of the WPA

Strengthened role

The 2018 Review of Coexistence in the WPA recommended strengthening the role of the WPA Advisory Board to:

  • assist the Commonwealth and South Australian governments to acquit their responsibilities as joint custodians of the WPA coexistence arrangements
  • be guided by a forward work program that more closely connects the Advisory Board to WPA stakeholders by considering issues of current and emerging importance for coexistence in the WPA

Advisory Board Membership

Appointed members:

  • The Hon Amanda Vanstone AO, Chair
  • Ms Andrea Slattery, Deputy Chair

Ex-officio members representing government agencies:

  • Air Marshal Robert Chipman, AO, CSC, Chief of Air Force
  • Mr Hugh Jeffrey, Deputy Secretary, Australian Government Department of Defence
  • Ms Jane Urquhart, PSM,  Deputy Secretary, Australian Government Department of Industry, Science and Resources
  • Dr Paul Heithersay, PSM, Chief Executive, South Australian Government Department for Energy and Mining
  • Chief Executive, South Australian Government Defence SA

The Advisory Board publishes an annual report covering the period of 1 July to 30 June at the completion of each financial year.