The Australian Service Medal was approved in 1988, and may be awarded for service in, or in connection with a prescribed non-warlike operation.

The medal is nickel-silver with a modified Shield of the Australian Coat of Arms surmounted by the Defence Force Joint Service Emblem super-imposed on a background of the meridians of longitude on the obverse.

The reverse has clusters of mimosa blossoms surrounding a Federation Star bearing the inscription ‘FOR SERVICE’.

The ribbon colours are primarily variations of the Australian colours of green and gold in tones of the Australian bush. The central brown stripe symbolises the earth of Australia.

A nickel-silver clasp with the name of the theatre or action for which the award is made is presented with the medal.

Further awards of the Australian Service Medal in other areas are recognised by the presentation of additional clasps. These are worn above previously awarded clasps, in order of date of receipt.

The following clasps have been issued for the medal:

Balkans Middle East
Bougainville Mozambique
Cambodia Peshawar
East Timor Sinai
Ethiopia/Eritrea Solomon Is
Guatemala Solomon Is II
Gulf Somalia
Haiti S.Pacific 2006
Iran/Iraq South Sudan
Iraq Special Ops
Irian Jaya Sudan
Kashmir Timor-Leste
Korea Uganda
Kuwait West Sahara

The eligibility criteria and the Determination for each clasp are included on the table of clasps issued.

Read more