skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer

Operation Mazurka

Twenty-seven ADF members working under Operation Mazurka are assisting the Multinational Force and Observers (MFO) in the Sinai, Egypt.

The MFO is a non-UN organisation established in 1981 to oversee long-standing peace agreements in the region.

The MFO is maintained by 12 nations including Australia, New Zealand, the United States, Canada, Fiji and France. Australia's involvement in the MFO began in early 1982 with the formation of an Australia-New Zealand combined helicopter squadron.

ADF members assist in the peace process by monitoring the border, preparing daily operational briefings and supporting the Headquarters.

Sinai Peninsula map