skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer


Exercise Rim of the Pacific 2016 (RIMPAC 16) is a major United States Pacific Fleet biennial combined exercise involving forces from 26 countries including Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, People's Republic of China, Republic of Singapore, the Philippines, Thailand, Tonga, UK and USA.

53 surface ships, four submarines and more than 200 aircraft will be manned and crewed by more than 25,000 personnel from across the Pacific Rim.

Australian Defence Force participation includes:

During the exercise, participating personnel and assets will conduct gunnery, missile, anti-submarine, and air-defence exercises, as well as maritime interdiction and vessel boardings, explosive ordnance disposal, diving and salvage operations, mine clearance operations and an amphibious landing.

RIMPAC 16 is a major undertaking which reflects the closeness of our alliance with the United States and the strength of our military relationships with other regional defence partners. RIMPAC 16 is the 25th exercise in the series that began in 1971 - Australia was a participant in the first exercise along with Canada, and the United States, and has attended every exercise since.

RIMPAC 16 is a unique opportunity to build interoperability and cultivate ties with the armed forces of Pacific Rim countries.

The theme of RIMPAC 2016 is "Capable, Adaptive, Partners".

The exercise is taking place in and around the Hawaiian Islands and the southern California naval exercise areas from 30 June until 4 August.

Additional Information

Further information on the exercise is available at: ADF on Operations and Exercises.

US NavyRIMPAC 16 Homepage.

The US Defense Video and Imagery Distribution Systems (DVIDS).


Twitter: @RIMPAC_2016

Instagram: RIMPAC_2016