skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer


Exercise Rim of the Pacific 2014 (RIMPAC 14) is a major United States Pacific Fleet biennial combined exercise involving forces from 23 countries including Australia, Canada, France, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Singapore, the Philippines, Thailand, Tonga, UK and USA.

48 surface ships, six submarines and more than 200 aircraft will be manned and crewed by 25,000 personnel from across the Pacific Rim.

Australian Defence Force participation includes:

  • Approximately 970 personnel from Navy, Army and Air Force
  • HMAS Sheean (Collins Class Submarine)
  • HMAS Success (Auxiliary Oiler Replenishment (AOR) vessel)
  • A Maritime Clearance Diving Task Group
  • A rifle company from 5th Battalion, The Royal Australian Regiment (5 RAR)
  • Three Royal Australian Air Force AP-3C Orion aircraft
  • During the exercise, participating personnel and assets will conduct gunnery, missile, anti-submarine, and air-defence exercises, as well as maritime interdiction and vessel boardings, explosive ordnance disposal, diving and salvage operations, mine clearance operations and an amphibious landing.

    RIMPAC 14 is a major undertaking which reflects the closeness of our alliance with the United States and the strength of our military relationships with other regional defence partners.

    The theme of RIMPAC 14 is "Capable, Adaptive, Partners."

    RIMPAC 14 is a unique opportunity to build interoperability and cultivate ties with the armed forces of Pacific Rim countries.

    The exercise is taking place in and around the Hawaiian Islands from 26 June until 1 August.

    Additional information on the exercise is available at:

    The US Defense Video and Imagery Distribution Systems (DVIDS):


    Twitter: @RIMPAC_2014

    Instagram: RIMPAC_2014