The Hon. Bruce Scott, MP

View this file as a printer friendly Microsoft Word document Printer friendly version
29 Mar 2001
  MIN 325/99



On the eve of its 80th anniversary, the Royal Australian Air Force tonight acknowledged its heritage and personnel with its annual achievement and heritage awards.

Saluting the award winners, the Minister Assisting the Minister for Defence, Bruce Scott, said it was a privilege to be part of the RAAF’s prestigious night where excellence was recognised, and rewarded.

"People are very important to any organisation and, as per the recent Defence White Paper, people within the Australian Defence Force are a priority for this Government," he said.

"The result of hard work, dedication and the pursuit of going ‘above and beyond the call of duty’ is what makes the recipients stand out."

Mr Scott said the RAAF awards and donated trophies, recognised individual efforts, like the Airman of the Year Award, unit achievements, and even a whole base. In addition, the Heritage Awards for art, literature and photography, helped enhance the RAAF’s historical records ensuring its place in Australian heritage.

Tonight’s awards were presented by the Chief of Air Force, Air Marshal Errol McCormack, in the presence of distinguished guests at the High Court of Australia in Canberra.

The Air Vice-Marshal Eaton Award, better known as the Airman of the Year Award, went to Leading Aircraftman Luke Walker who works in Headquarters Northern Command in Darwin. LAC Walker was recognised for his efforts as a watch supervisor in the headquarters communications centre. In addition to the award, he also receives the Lipshut Family Bursary which he intends using to complete a nursing degree.

RAAF Base Richmond in NSW was announced the Most Proficient RAAF Base and awarded the Hawker Siddeley Trophy. Home of the RAAF’s transport squadrons, the base was particularly busy last year due to its involvement in the Sydney Olympic carnival.

One of the Hercules squadrons based at Richmond, No 36 Squadron, was awarded the prestigious Duke of Gloucester Cup for its proficiency in administration, dress and bearing.

The award for the most accomplished RAAF unit went to No 92 Wing Logistics Operations at RAAF Base Edinburgh in South Australia. The unit, which provides logistical support to the Maritime Patrol Group, was awarded the Markowski Cup.

Winners of the RAAF Annual Heritage Awards were Flight Sergeant Peter McIntosh for photography, Mr John Birt for art and Mr Frank Korbl for literature.

Media Contact: Mark Croxford 02 6277 7820 or 0408 645 787

View this file as a printer friendly Microsoft Word document Printer friendly version  
Receive media releases automatically via email. Register your address here