skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer

Defence Infrastructure Division

Stage One of the Garden Island (East) Critical Infrastructure Recovery Program

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works

PWC Process Stages

The PWC’s Manual of Procedures for Departments and Agencies identifies eight steps in the PWC process:

  1. Identification of the need to refer a proposed public work to the PWC;
  2. the preparation of a submission to the PWC (the Statement of Evidence);
  3. the referral of a proposed project to the PWC;
  4. pre-public hearing activities;
  5. site inspection;
  6. public hearing and follow-up; and
  7. the tabling of the PWC’s report in the House of Representatives and the Senate.
  8. Parliamentary approval by the House of Representatives for work to commence.

In practice, the Department of Defence groups these steps into four distinct phases: referral, hearing, expediency and reporting.

The key steps in PWC process for Stage One included:

  1. Referral: Stage One was referred in Parliament on 01 March 2017.
  2. Hearing: Stage One's Hearing was held at the Juanita Nielsen Community Centre, Woolloomooloo, on 04 May 2017.
  3. Expediency: Stage One achieved Expediency on 14 June 2017.
  4. Reporting: The PWC Outcomes Report will be made available on the PWC website.

Click here for a link to the Statement of Evidence for Stage One of the Garden Island (East) Critical Infrastructure Recovery Program.