skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer

Eastern Shah Wali Kot Battle Honour

On 26 March, 2013, the Minister for Defence, Stephen Smith announced the awarding of the first Army Battle Honour since the end of the Vietnam War.

The Battle Honour is entitled the Eastern Shah Wali Kot and has been awarded to the SAS Regiment and 2nd Commando Regiment for the Australian Special Operations Task Group Rotation 12. The Battle Honour was awarded for the operation conducted in Shah Wali Kot in May and June of 2010. This was the operation which saw Ben Roberts-Smith awarded the Victoria Cross.
This recognises the efforts of both of these units during engagements which were highly commended by the International Security Assistance Force command for the contribution it made to overall ISAF efforts to disrupt insurgent activities in the region around Eastern Shah Wali Kot, one of the Taliban's traditional stronghold areas.

The Chief of the Army, General David Morrison, recommended that both units receive formal recognition for their outstanding performance during the offensive.

Battle Honours are a significant statement about the nature of the actual operation that these people and units were involved with, and they are a strong mark in the history of any unit.

For further information see Media Release:

Defence imagery is available at: