skip to navigation skip to content skip to footer

Benjamin Farinazzo

ADF Service: I joined the Australian Army in 1991 and discharged in 2002. I graduated from the Australian Defence Force Academy (ADFA) and Royal Military College (RMC) Duntroon and was posted to the 3rd Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment (3RAR).

In 1999, I deployed on active service as part of the International Force in Timor Leste (INTERFET).

Age: 44

Hometown: Brisbane, Queensland

Current town: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory

Competing in: Powerlifting and rowing

Benjamin Farinazzo

What is the Nature of your injury or illness?

In recent years, my family and I have faced several challenges. I was diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) as a result of my military service. I also had a mountain bike accident and fractured my neck and spine in several places.

What role has sport played in your rehabilitation?

Sport has played a critical and ongoing role in helping me to balance my mind, body and connection to the world. There was a period in my life where I was walking through the valley of the shadow of death.

Sport and exercise formed one of the pillars upon which I rebuilt a meaningful and purposeful life.

What is your greatest achievement to date?

The deep sense of satisfaction that I get from seeing my three children grow as humble, strong and compassionate individuals, ready for the world.

Why did you apply for the Invictus Games 2018?

I reached a point in my rehabilitation and recovery where I felt confident and capable of embracing the challenge of competitive sport. I specifically applied for Invictus Games 2018 as it offered an opportunity to reconnect with the veteran community within a supportive environment.

What will “winning” look like for you at these Games?

The opportunity to deliver a powerful individual performance as part of an inspirational Australian team at a successfully conducted Invictus Games event.

The person I most admire is…

My wife, for her strength, tenacity, compassion and support to me, our family and others.