Appendix Two
Corporate governance

Senior Committee Attendance

This section contains additional detailed information on Defence's senior committees, further to that contained in the print version of the Defence Annual Report 2007-08.

Table WA2.9 Financial Management and Controls Committee membership and attendance, 2007-08
Position and name
Chief Finance Officer (Chair) (Mr Phillip Prior)
Deputy Chief of Navy (Rear Admiral Russ Crane)[1]
Deputy Chief of Air Force (Air Vice-Marshal John Blackburn) [1]
Deputy Chief of Army[1]
Major General John Cantwell (until February 2008)
Major General David Morrison (from February 2008)
Defence Materiel Organisation
General Manager Corporate, Defence Materiel Organisation (Ms Jane Wolfe)
Defence Materiel Organisation
Chief Finance Officer, Defence Materiel Organisation (Mr Steve Wearne from May 2008)
Defence Support Group
Chief Operating Officer Defence Support Group (Mr Kieran Gleeson)
Commander Joint Logistics (Major General Grant Cavenagh)[1]
Chief Information Officer
Mr Peter Lambert (until November 2008)
Mr Greg Farr (from November 2008)
Inspector General (Dr Ian Williams)
First Assistant Secretary Personnel ( Mr Steve Grzeskowiak - Acting First Assistant Secretary Personnel from 21 January 2008)


  1. Substitute regularly attends in place of member/adviser.

During 2007-08, the Financial Management and Controls Committee met three times to monitor progress on addressing the inventory and purchase to pay issues, the financial controls environment, the remediation of the Australian National Audit Office findings and risks to the financial statements.