Chapter One - Overview > Corporate Governance > page 6 of 14
| |

Corporate Governance

Defence Governance Framework

Senior Committees

Chiefs of Service Committee

The Chiefs of Service Committee provides military advice to the Chief of the Defence Force to assist him in discharging his responsibilities in command of the ADF and as principal military adviser to the Government.

In 2004-05, membership comprised the Chief of the Defence Force (chair), the Secretary, Vice Chief of the Defence Force/Chief of Joint Operations, Chief of Navy, Chief of Army and Chief of Air Force. Deputy Secretary Strategy is a permanently invited member.

The committee met 11 times in 2004-05.

Table 1.18 Chiefs of Service Committee Attendance
Position and Name Meetings Held Meetings Attended
Chief of the Defence Force (General Peter Cosgrove) 11 11
Secretary (Mr Richard Smith) 11 10/1*
Vice Chief of the Defence Force/Chief of Joint Operations
(Vice Admiral Russ Shalders)
11 11
Chief of Navy (Vice Admiral Chris Ritchie) 11 10/1*
Chief of Army (Lieutenant General Peter Leahy) 11 8/3*
Chief of Air Force (Air Marshal Angus Houston) 11 9/2*
Permanently Invited Member
Deputy Secretary Strategy (Mr Shane Carmody) 11 9/2*

* Substitute attended in place of member.

| | « Previous | Home | Next » |