skip banner The Australian Government Department of Defence

Minister | Navy | Army | Air Force | Department

ADF Units and Establishments

Royal Australian Air Force
Air Force Headquarters - Canberra, ACT
Formation/unit Designation Location
Air Force Headquarters AFHQ Canberra, ACT
Directorate General of Technical Airworthiness - ADF DGTA-ADF Laverton, Vic
Directorate of Flying Safety - ADF DFS-ADF Canberra, ACT
Airworthiness Coordination and Policy Agency - ADF ACPA-AF Canberra, ACT
Aerospace Centre DAC Fairbairn, ACT
RAAF Aeronautical Information Services Agency AIS-AF Melbourne, Vic
Joint Centre for Airspace Management JCAM Canberra, ACT
Infrastructure Development Agency IDA Canberra, ACT
Directorate of Security and Policing - Air Force DOSP-AF Canberra, ACT
Management Services Agency Canberra, ACT
Air Force Ground Safety Agency AFGSA Canberra, ACT
Air Command - Glenbrook
Formation/unit Designation Location
Headquarters Air Command HQAC Glenbrook, NSW
Aircraft Research and Development Unit ARDU Edinburgh, SA
Headquarters Air Combat Group HQACG Williamtown, NSW
Headquarters No 82 Wing HQ82 Wing Amberley, Qld
2 Strike and reconnaissance squadrons 1 Sqn Amberley, Qld
6 Sqn Amberley, Qld
Forward Area Control Development Unit FACDU Williamtown, NSW
Combat Support Unit CSU AMB Amberley, Qld
Headquarters No 81 Wing HQ81 Wing Williamtown, NSW
3 Tactical fighter squadrons 3 Sqn Williamtown, NSW
75 Sqn Tindal, NT
77 Sqn Williamtown, NSW
Headquarters No 78 Wing HQ78 Wing Williamtown, NSW
1 Tactical fighter operational conversion unit 2OCU Williamtown, NSW
1 Lead-in fighter training squadron 76 Sqn Williamtown, NSW
No 79 Squadron 79 Sqn Pearce, WA
Combat Support Unit CSU WIL Williamtown, NSW
Headquarters Surveillance and Control Group HQSCG Williamtown, NSW
Support Flight ADGE + ATC Williamtown, NSW
1 Surveillance and control squadron 2 Sqn Williamtown, NSW
Information Operations Squadron IOSQN Canberra, ACT
Headquarters No 44 Wing HQ44 Wing Williamtown, NSW
11 Air traffic control flights ATCFLT AMB Amberley, Qld
ATCFLT ESL East Sale, Vic
ATCFLT EDN Edinburgh, SA
ATCFLT TVL Townsville, Qld
ATCFLT WLM Williamtown, NSW
Headquarters No 41 Wing HQ41 Wing Williamtown, NSW
1 Radar surveillance unit 1RSU Edinburgh, SA
1 Mobile control and reporting unit 114MCRU Darwin, NT
2 Control and reporting units 2 CRU Tindal, NT
3 CRU Williamtown, NSW
1 Surveillance and control training unit SACTU Williamtown, NSW
Headquarters Maritime and Patrol Group HQMPG Edinburgh, SA
Headquarters No 92 Wing HQ92 Wing Edinburgh, SA
2 Maritime patrol squadrons 10 Sqn Edinburgh, SA
11 Sqn Edinburgh, SA
1 Operational conversion squadron 292 Sqn Edinburgh, SA
No 92 Wing Detachment A 92WG Det A Butterworth, Malaysia
Combat Support Unit CSU EDN Edinburgh, SA
Headquarters Air Lift Group HQALG Richmond, NSW
Headquarters No 84 Wing HQ84 Wing Richmond, NSW
1 Long-range transport squadron 33 Sqn Richmond, NSW
2 Special transport squadrons 34 Sqn Fairbairn, ACT
32 Sqn East Sale, Vic
Headquarters No 85 Wing HQ85 Wing Richmond, NSW
1 Air movements training and development unit AMTDU Richmond, NSW
No 285 Squadron 285 Sqn Richmond, NSW
Headquarters No 86 Wing HQ86 Wing Richmond, NSW
2 Medium range transport squadrons 36 Sqn Richmond, NSW
37 Sqn Richmond, NSW
2 Tactical transport squadrons 35 Sqn Townsville, Qld
38 Sqn Amberley, Qld
No 38 Squadron Detachment A 38 Sqn Det A Pearce, WA
No 38 Squadron Detachment B 38 Sqn Det B Townsville, Qld
Combat Support Unit CSU RIC Richmond, NSW
Air Command Band Richmond, NSW
Headquarters Combat Support Group HQCSG Amberley, Qld
Headquarters No 395 Expeditionary Combat Support Wing HQ395ECSW Townsville, Qld
4 Expeditionary combat support squadrons 381ECSS Williamtown, NSW
382ECSS Amberley, Qld
383ECSS Amberley, Qld
386ECSS Richmond, NSW
1 Combat communications squadron 1 CCS Richmond, NSW
1 Combat logistics squadron 1 CLS Townsville, Qld
1 Air terminal squadron 1ATS Richmond, NSW
Headquarters No 396 Combat Support Wing HQ396CSW Darwin, NT
3 Combat support squadrons 321CSS Darwin, NT
323CSS Townsville, Qld
324CSS Butterworth, Malaysia
Headquarters No 322 Combat Support Wing HQ322CSW Tindal, NT
3 Military airfields (bare bases) RAAF Learmonth Learmonth, WA
RAAF Curtin Curtin, WA
RAAF Scherger Scherger, Qld
No 23 Squadron 23 Sqn Amberley, Qld
No 24 Squadron 24 Sqn Edinburgh, SA
No 25 Squadron 25 Sqn Pearce, WA
No 26 Squadron 26 Sqn Williamtown, NSW
No 27 Squadron 27 Sqn Townsville, Qld
No 28 Squadron 28 Sqn Fairbairn, ACT
No 29 Squadron 29 Sqn Hobart, Tas
Training Command - Laverton, Vic
Formation/unit Designation Location
Headquarters Training Command HQTC Laverton, Vic
Air Training Wing ATW East Sale, Vic
Australian Defence Force Basic Flying Training School ADFBFTS Tamworth, NSW
No 2 Flying Training School 2FTS Pearce, WA
Central Flying School CFS East Sale, Vic
School of Air Navigation SAN East Sale, Vic
School of Air Traffic Control SATC East Sale, Vic
Combat Survival Training School CSTS Townsville, Qld
RAAF Institute of Aviation Medicine AVMED Edinburgh, SA
Combat Support Unit CSU ESL East Sale, Vic
RAAF College RAAFCOL Point Cook, Vic
Officers' Training School OTS Point Cook, Vic
No 1 Recruit Training Unit 1 RTU Edinburgh, SA
School of Post-Graduate Studies SPS Point Cook, Vic
Ground Training Wing GTW Wagga Wagga, NSW
School of Technical Training RAAFSTT Wagga Wagga, NSW
RAAF Security and Fire School RAAFSFS Amberley, Qld
RAAF School of Management and Training Technology RAAFSMTT Wagga Wagga, NSW
ADF School of Languages ADFLANGS Point Cook, Vic
Defence International Training Centre DITC Laverton, Vic
3 Combat Support Units CSUWAG Wagga Wagga, NSW
CSUWIL Laverton, Vic
Health Services Training Flight Laverton, Vic
Band RAAFBAND Laverton, Vic
Museum RAAF Museum Point Cook, Vic